Nomad, unless you're a heavy user. For a typical adventure trip, Nomad's 30-day fixed plans cost well under half of Airalo's unlimited passes, and Nomad won all 18 of our destinations at 0.5 GB a day. Both name the local network. Airalo pulls level at 1.5 GB a day and ahead at 3 GB a day, thanks to its higher daily cap (3 GB vs 2 GB), and it publishes 24/7 support, which Nomad doesn't. Nomad refunds to your card within 30 days; Airalo refunds in app credit.
| Pick Nomad if… | Pick Airalo if… | |
|---|---|---|
| Data use | Under about 1 GB a day | 2 GB a day or more |
| Price | You want the cheapest option in most countries | You'd rather pay for unlimited and stop counting |
| Unlimited cap | 2 GB/day is enough | You need 3 GB/day at full speed |
| Support | Chat in the app is enough | You want published 24/7 help |
| Refunds | You want money back on the card | Credit is fine |
Prices from each provider's own pages on 31 October 2026, policies on 1 November; we didn't test either. Aventure SIM is run by the team behind Lotso Travel, a competitor of both.
Head to head · 18 destinations both sell
Nomad vs Airalo: who's cheaper for your trip?
Buying the cheapest fitting plan in all 18 destinations would cost $366 with Nomad and $883.51 with Airalo. A plan that stays at full speed counts as the winner over a cheaper one that slows down. Our price index's standard trip: 0.5 GB a day.
| Destination | Nomad | Airalo |
|---|---|---|
| JapanNomad: KDDI au / SoftBank · Airalo: SoftBank (+ others) | $1610 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| NepalNomad: Ncell · Airalo: Ncell | $2410 GB · 30 days | $702 × Unlimited · 7 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| IndonesiaNomad: XLSMART / Telkomsel · Airalo: Indosat (+ others) | $1910 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| TanzaniaNomad: Airtel · Airalo: Halotel (+ 1 other) | $1910 GB · 30 days | $49Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| MoroccoNomad: Orange · Airalo: Orange (+ 1 other) | $2110 GB · 30 days | $49Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| PeruNomad: Movistar / Claro · Airalo: Movistar | $2510 GB · 30 days | $44Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| ChileNomad: Movistar · Airalo: Movistar (+ 1 other) | $2510 GB · 30 days | $50Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| ArgentinaNomad: Movistar · Airalo: Movistar | $2810 GB · 30 days | $692 × Unlimited · 7 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| EcuadorNomad: Movistar · Airalo: Otecel (Movistar) | $2810 GB · 30 days | $52Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| Costa RicaNomad: Kölbi (ICE) / Liberty · Airalo: Liberty | $2510 GB · 30 days | $49Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| MexicoNomad: AT&T / Movistar · Airalo: AT&T (unlimited); Movistar (fixed) | $15.5010 GB · 30 days | $24.5010 GB · 15 days |
| United StatesNomad: Verizon / AT&T · Airalo: T-Mobile (+ 1 other) | $1310 GB · 30 days | $46Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| CanadaNomad: Rogers / Freedom Mobile · Airalo: Bell | $1710 GB · 30 days | $44.01Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| IcelandNomad: Vodafone / Síminn · Airalo: Síminn (+ 1 other) | $1610 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| NorwayNomad: Telia · Airalo: Telia (+ 1 other) | $1610 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| United KingdomNomad: 3 / EE / Vodafone · Airalo: EE (+ 2 others) | $17.5010 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| Europe (regional)Networks not named | $2310 GB · 30 days | $49Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| New ZealandNomad: Spark · Airalo: Spark | $1810 GB · 30 days | $48Unlimited · 15 days, 3 GB/day full speed |
| Policy | Nomad | Airalo |
|---|---|---|
| How it sells data | Fixed GB (30-day) plus unlimited day passes in many countries | Unlimited day passes on most country pages; fixed-GB packages behind a filter |
| Unlimited cap | 2 GB/day, then ~1–2 Mbps | 3 GB/day, then 1 Mbps |
| Hotspot | Yes | Yes, no device limit |
| Phone number | "Some of Nomad's eSIMs include a local phone number" | Not stated on the country pages we read |
| Top-ups | Add-on plans on most fixed plans; may not lift the daily cap on unlimited | Yes; packages can auto-renew when 10% of data remains |
| Refunds | 30 days | Not stated; credit only in app |
| Support | Not stated | 24/7 |
Cheapest plan from each provider that covers the whole trip at full speed where possible ("slows" means the daily cap is below your use). Public USD prices checked 31 Oct 2026, policies 1 Nov 2026; every price links back through the price index.
Price: a rout at light use, a tie at heavy use
At 0.5 GB a day for two weeks, the totals across our 18 destinations were $366 with Nomad and $884 with Airalo. The gap per country is large: $13 vs $46 in the US, $16 vs $48 in Japan and Iceland, $19 vs $49 in Tanzania, $24 vs $70 in Nepal. That's because Nomad sells 10 GB for 30 days and Airalo leads with 15-day unlimited passes.
At 1.5 GB a day, Nomad's fixed plans start stacking up (two or three plans per trip), and Airalo's flat unlimited price catches it: a 9–9 split, $886 vs $902 in total. Airalo won Tanzania, Peru, Chile, Argentina, Ecuador, Costa Rica, Mexico, Canada and New Zealand; Nomad held Japan, Nepal, Indonesia, Morocco, the US, Iceland, Norway, the UK and Europe, mostly thanks to cheap 50 GB plans. At 3 GB a day (hotspot), Airalo wins 10 of 18, partly because Nomad's 2 GB unlimited cap can't cover the day at full speed.
Networks: both name them, and they're often the same
This is closer than the price. Both name the operator, and in many places it's the same one: Ncell in Nepal, Movistar in Chile, Argentina and Ecuador, Spark in New Zealand. Where they differ, it's worth a look: in Tanzania Nomad uses Airtel and Airalo Halotel; in Canada Nomad uses Rogers and Freedom Mobile and Airalo Bell; in Peru Nomad lists Movistar and Claro, Airalo Movistar only. On Kilimanjaro, operators list Vodacom, Airtel, Halotel, Tigo and TTCL as the networks people use on the mountain, so both eSIMs reach a named local operator there; our Kilimanjaro guide has what's known about where signal appears.
Unlimited caps and hotspot
Airalo: "The default daily high-speed data threshold is 3GB", then 1 Mbps, with "no limit on tethering". Nomad: "For most plans, the high-speed data cap is set at 2 GB per day", then about 1 or 2 Mbps; hotspot is supported, and add-ons "may not increase the daily allowance". If you'll hotspot a laptop daily, Airalo's extra gigabyte matters. If you'll mostly message and check maps, Nomad's cap won't bite. Our fair-use explainer has every provider's numbers.
Refunds and support
Nomad: 30 days from purchase; uninstalled or unactivated eSIMs "may be fully refundable"; partial refunds after activation for verified failures; money back to the card in 2–5 business days or as Nomad Points. Nomad's unlimited passes are excluded: "all Unlimited plans are non-refundable". Support by in-app and website chat, hours not stated.
Airalo: in-app refunds in Airmoney credit only; expired or used eSIMs excluded. Support "24/7" by live chat.
So Nomad has the better refund, Airalo the better-documented support.
The bottom line for trekkers
For a two-week trek where you're out of signal for days at a time, you'll rarely use 1 GB a day, and Nomad's fixed plan is the obvious buy. For a city-heavy trip with daily video calls and a laptop, Airalo's unlimited is fair value and simpler. In Europe, the UK, Iceland and Norway, also check Lotso Travel, which our team runs and which was cheaper than both for short trips (review, weaknesses included).
Questions people ask
Is Nomad cheaper than Airalo?
At trekking-level use, always: for 14 days at 0.5 GB a day, Nomad's cheapest fit was cheaper in all 18 of our destinations, $366 against $884 in total, on prices read 31 Oct 2026. At 1.5 GB a day they split 9–9, and at 3 GB a day Airalo's unlimited pass wins in 10 of 18.
Nomad or Airalo for Nepal?
Both use Ncell. Nomad's 10 GB for 30 days was $24 and its 15-day unlimited $39 (2 GB a day at full speed); Airalo had 7-day unlimited at $35 and 30 days at $99 (3 GB a day). For a typical trek, Nomad is much cheaper.
Which has the better unlimited plan, Nomad or Airalo?
Airalo's cap is higher: 3 GB a day at full speed, then 1 Mbps. Nomad's is 2 GB a day, then about 1 or 2 Mbps, and its add-ons may not lift the daily cap. Nomad's unlimited passes are usually a little cheaper.