For most hikers, trekkers and overlanders, Nomad is the eSIM to start with. It was the cheapest way to get two weeks of trekking-level data in 9 of the 18 destinations we priced on 31 October 2026, it names the local network in every country, and hotspot is allowed. Pick Maya Mobile for long trips in countries where data is dear (Nepal, Tanzania, Ecuador), Saily if you want a phone number add-on and generous hotspot, and Lotso Travel, which our team runs, for Europe, Iceland, Norway and the UK, where it was cheapest. Avoid Lotso for Nepal, Tanzania and Canada.
There's no single best eSIM for adventure travel because the prices swing wildly by country. Lotso is the cheapest of seven providers in Iceland and the most expensive in Nepal. So this page compares the things that don't change by country (how each provider sells data, whether it tells you the network, hotspot, top-ups, phone numbers, unlimited rules) and points you to the price index and calculator for your destination.
We compared published prices and policies; we didn't buy and test every eSIM for this page. Prices are in US dollars and were read from each provider's own pages on 31 October 2026.
The seven at a glance
| Pricing model | Names the local network? | Hotspot | Phone number | Unlimited cap | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nomad | Fixed GB (30 days) + unlimited day passes | Yes, every country we read | Yes | Some plans | 2 GB/day, then ~1–2 Mbps |
| Saily | Fixed GB (30 days) + 15-day unlimited | Rarely | "Limitless" | Add-on with minutes | 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps |
| Maya Mobile | One unlimited price in 165+ countries | No | Yes | Not stated | None stated; congestion deprioritisation |
| Lotso Travel (ours) | Fixed GB per country + daily plans | No | Yes, all plans | No | 2, 3 or 5 GB/day, then 1 Mbps |
| Ubigi | Fixed GB (7–30 days) + some unlimited | Yes | Yes | No | 5 GB/day, then 2 Mbps |
| Airalo | Unlimited day passes; fixed GB behind a filter | Primary network | Yes | Not stated | 3 GB/day at 20 Mbps, then reduced |
| Holafly | Unlimited only, by the day | Yes | 1 GB/day | No | Not published |
Sources for every cell are on the unlimited plans page and the price index's source list.
How we ranked them
For a trip where you'll spend days without signal, four things matter more than the headline price: whether the eSIM uses the strongest local network where you're going, whether you can top up from the trail when you do find a signal, whether it'll share data with a partner or a laptop, and what the real cost is for your trip length, not for a 1 GB weekend. We weighted price heaviest because it's the one with the clearest data, then networks and hotspot.
Nomad: cheapest for most trips
Nomad's 30-day fixed plans are where it wins. 10 GB for 30 days cost $16 in Japan and Iceland, $13 in the USA and $17 in Canada, and in our index it was the cheapest 14-day option in Japan, Nepal, Tanzania, Morocco, Peru, Mexico, the USA, Canada and New Zealand. Its country pages name the network every time (Rogers and Freedom Mobile in Canada, Airtel in Tanzania, Movistar in Chile and Argentina), which matters when you're choosing between providers that use different operators.
The weaknesses are real. Its unlimited passes slow down after 2 GB a day, the lowest cap among providers that publish one. In several countries it uses a single network (Movistar only in Chile, Argentina and Ecuador; Telia only in Norway), which is a risk if that operator is weak where you're headed. In Nepal its unlimited pass is the better buy: 15 days on Ncell for $39, though at 2 GB a day.
Pick Nomad if you want the lowest price for a typical trip and like knowing the network.
Maya Mobile: the flat-rate unlimited
Maya Mobile's Travel Mode is one price wherever it sells: $9.99 for 3 days, $19.99 for 7, $27.99 for 14, $49.99 for 30, with "no throttling, no speed caps" and hotspot included. That's poor value where data is cheap (5 GB in Iceland costs under $10 elsewhere) and excellent value where it isn't. In Ecuador it was the cheapest 14-day option, and in Nepal and Tanzania it came second only to Nomad.
It doesn't name networks ("the strongest local network in every country"), and its acceptable use policy reserves "deprioritisation during congestion" for heavy use. We should also say that Lotso Travel resells Maya Mobile's network plans in its own packaging, so the two often share the underlying network.
Pick Maya Mobile if you're staying two weeks or more in an expensive-data country, or you want one eSIM for a multi-country trip.
Saily: consistent, and it'll give you a number
Saily sells the same shape of plan everywhere (1 GB for 7 days, then 3, 5, 10 and 20 GB for 30 days) at prices that usually land just above Nomad. It's the only provider here offering a phone number as an add-on, which helps if you need to receive SMS codes on the eSIM itself, and it advertises "limitless hotspot sharing". Its unlimited pass has the joint-highest published cap at 5 GB a day.
Its pages rarely name the network ("Chile's best networks"), and in Nepal its 3 GB plan was $29.99, which is steep.
Pick Saily if you want a phone number, plan to share data, or prefer predictable 30-day plans.
Lotso Travel: cheapest in Europe, weak elsewhere
We run Lotso, so weigh this section accordingly; we've tried to describe it the way we would a competitor. In our index Lotso was the cheapest 7- and 14-day option in Iceland, Norway, the UK, its Europe regional plan and Indonesia. 3 GB for 10 days was $7.99 in Iceland, Norway and the UK, and 10 GB for 30 days $16.99. Hotspot is included on all plans, and current eSIMs can be topped up.
The weaknesses: its fixed plans in Nepal ($70.99 for 3 GB), Tanzania ($23.99 for 3 GB over 10 days), Canada and Costa Rica are among the most expensive in the index. It's data only, with no phone number. Its plan cards don't name the local network. Support is by WhatsApp and email, usually answered within one business day rather than around the clock. And it doesn't sell open-ended unlimited plans; its "daily" plans slow to 1 Mbps after 2 to 5 GB a day. Lotso also sells at a lower price to people who arrive through a referral link; we compare its public price.
Pick Lotso if you're in Europe, the UK, Iceland or Norway. Don't for the Himalaya, East Africa or Canada.
Ubigi: cheapest in Chile, hard to read
Ubigi was the cheapest 14-day option in Chile ($24 for 10 GB over 30 days), Argentina and Costa Rica, and it names networks on its product pages (KDDI, NTT Docomo and SoftBank in Japan, for instance). Its unlimited plans give 5 GB a day before slowing to 2 Mbps, joint-fastest throttled speed here alongside some of Nomad's plans.
We could only read Ubigi's prices for five of our 18 destinations, because its plan listing is a single very long page. That's a practical weakness for you too: comparing Ubigi plans takes more work.
Pick Ubigi if you're heading to Patagonia or Costa Rica and want a cheap fixed plan.
Airalo: the best known, priced for unlimited
Airalo's country pages now lead with unlimited passes, and those are priced like Holafly's: $48 for 15 days in Japan, Iceland and the UK, $79 in Nepal. Its published cap is clear and generous on speed ("3GB per day at 20 Mbps"), hotspot is allowed, and each page names the primary network (SoftBank in Japan, Ncell in Nepal, Halotel in Tanzania). Fixed-data plans exist behind a filter; on the Mexico page they rendered, and 10 GB for 30 days was $26.
Pick Airalo if you need unlimited and the app's familiarity matters to you.
Holafly: simple, expensive, tight on hotspot
Holafly sells only unlimited, by the number of days, and its pages are the clearest about networks (Vodacom in Tanzania, Movistar and Claro in Peru, Bell and Telus in Canada). It also includes a 1 GB monthly "Always On" backup allowance. But two weeks costs $45 to $55 in most of our destinations, it doesn't publish a fair-use threshold, and hotspot sharing is capped at "1 GB of data per day". No phone number.
Pick Holafly if you want to stop thinking about data and you won't share your connection.
Which network each provider uses
Network choice matters most off the beaten path, where one operator may have a mast in a valley and another may not. Here's what providers published for the countries in our route guides:
| Destination | Nomad | Holafly | Airalo | Others |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nepal | Ncell | Nepal Telecom / Ncell | Ncell | Saily, Maya, Lotso: not named |
| Chile | Movistar | Telefónica (Movistar) | Movistar + 1 | |
| Canada | Rogers / Freedom | Bell / Telus | Bell | |
| Iceland | Vodafone / Síminn | Nova / Sýn | Síminn + 1 | |
| Tanzania | Airtel | Vodacom | Halotel + 1 | |
| UK | 3 / EE / Vodafone | EE, Three, VMO2, Vodafone | EE + 2 | |
| Japan | KDDI au / SoftBank | KDDI / SoftBank | SoftBank + others | Saily: KDDI, SoftBank; Ubigi: KDDI, Docomo, SoftBank |
On the Everest trail this matters: trip reports say NTC (Nepal Telecom) still carries some data around Dingboche and Pheriche where Ncell has nothing, so an Ncell-only eSIM goes quiet sooner. See the Everest Base Camp guide.
Before you buy any of them
Check your phone takes an eSIM and is unlocked; our compatibility checker covers Apple, Google and Samsung, including the China and Hong Kong traps. Install the eSIM on Wi-Fi before you fly, since you'll need a connection to download it. Download offline maps for the whole route. And if your trip leaves mobile coverage for more than a day, read satellite vs eSIM: no eSIM works where there's no mast.
Questions people ask
What's the best eSIM for trekking?
On price, Nomad, which was the cheapest 14-day option in 9 of the 18 destinations we priced, and it names the local network on every country page. For long trips in expensive countries such as Nepal, Tanzania or Ecuador, Maya Mobile's flat unlimited pass ($27.99 for 14 days) is hard to beat. In Europe, Lotso Travel (run by our team) was cheapest.
Which local network does my eSIM use?
It depends on the provider and country, and not every provider says. Nomad and Holafly name networks on every country page we read; Airalo names its primary network; Saily rarely does; Maya Mobile and Lotso Travel don't on their plan pages. In Nepal, for example, Nomad and Airalo use Ncell, while Holafly lists Nepal Telecom and Ncell.
Can I use my eSIM as a hotspot?
With every provider we compared, yes, with limits. Holafly caps sharing at 1 GB a day. On unlimited plans elsewhere, hotspot use counts toward the daily full-speed allowance.
Is Holafly good for hiking?
It's simple and its pages name the network, but it only sells unlimited passes priced by the day, so two weeks costs $45 to $55 in most countries, and hotspot sharing is limited to 1 GB a day. For trekking-level use, a fixed plan from another provider usually costs a third to half as much.